Wearables the last to arrive

In the post today I want to talk about a new gadget that is becoming fashionable, and is closely associated with the world’s #mHealth, Wearables.

Recently someone has given me one of these devices wearables, and this has allowed me to know in detail how it works, if it brings value, which features it has, etc …

Wearables various

The first conclusion I have reached after a few days of using it, is that there is still much room for improvement … reminds me of when the first cell phones appeared years ago, for us that was an awesome machine, but viewed in perspective, the evolution of these machines has been huge and spectacular…

If I try to imagine how will these “new born wearables” be in 10 years, for example, great changes come to my mind.

Today, one of the aspects that I think needs to evolve, and quite a lot, is the system used to determine the distance traveled, the number of steps taken or minutes of activity … Let me explain … If using a wearable Fit Bit Flex rate is limited to times when exercising, running or hiking for example is the current functionality will probably be up to the expectation of the user.

However, in the short term I think there are things that should ALREADY be improved to ensure that users get the most out of your small investment, such as when to introduce what has been eaten, the database of food, dishes fruit … leaves much to be desired, at least as far as Mediterranean diet is concerned…

Fit Bit Wristband

Frankly I think these new devices, developed for healthcare programs focused on chronic diseases, or people at risk of suffering them, have enormous potential …

I’ve done a little research on Google and have found hundreds of images of wearables, I don’t really know if these are real or just prototypes, but they have left me impressed:

Health Wearable 1 Health Wearable 2

I’ve christened #HealthyWearables, devices that will evolve technologically for sure, but it has other challenges to overcome that can be summarized in three key aspects covered in an article by Travis McKnight (@Khellendos) wrote about a study at Johns Hopkins .

These three aspects are closely related to patient’s engagement in their care:

1st) We have to break the barrier of “I do not care about my health, I’m fine” to get to “I’ll start controlling what I eat and do a little exercise.”

2nd) Culturally society is not used to receive information about the calories different foods have. When you go to a restaurant, you rarely see that in every dish in the menu: This dish has xxx calories. This information would probably help a lot of people to realize and control his diet more frequently within and outside the home.

3rd) And finally, there is the challenge of turning knowledge into habit, that is, I decided to take care of myself, I know which foods are better for me and I’ll eat it more often, and therefore my usual diet is balanced and healthy.

But going back to what I just said about my usual diet, as in everything in life, you have to find a balance, and if my diet used to be balanced, can and should afford some excess time to time to enjoy the pleasures of good gastronomy. 😛

Responder

